A New Chapter

After returning to Bogotá from Leticia, I had just a couple days to pack everything up before I say goodbye to that chapter in my life, and headed out into the unknown.  I was extremely excited, and equally as nervous.  While I was more than ready to turn the page and start a new chapter in my life and my Fulbright experience, it doesn’t mean that it wasn’t a little intimidating. At least where I was in Bogotá was now familiar, even if it wasn’t my preference.  And here I was, ready to head to a new city where I didn’t know anyone… I didn’t even know where I would sleep that night!  All I knew is that once again, my life was packed up in two (gigantic) suitcases and I was heading out on another great adventure.

Before I left Bogotá, though, I had to do something I had been dreading for a while: I had to go back and get a new visa. Remembering my lovely episodes in the past, I got up extra early this time and got to the office more than two hours before it opened at 5:30 AM.  Just in time, too!  I got to be first in line, and within minutes after I arrived, there was a crowd.

Early morning line for visas

Early morning line for visas

This time, the processes was fairly painless (especially for Colombia – I only waited 4.5 hours!), especially considering that I had most unfortunately become an expert at this! Soon, I had a new visa – and much better than the last one as well!  I also had to apply for a new cedula, or identity card, but that hasn’t worked out so well.  After reluctantly shelling almost a hundred dollars for a new ID that would expire within months, I still have not been issued it (3 1/2 months later).  I’m wondering if I’ll even receive my new cedula before I leave Colombia.

New visa!

New visa!

Now I was ready to head to Pasto… bags were packed, and before I knew it I was saying goodbye to the city that had been home for the last six months.  Even though I had some wonderful times in Bogotá, I learned that I will probably never want to live in a city of millions – in Colombia, the USA, or any other country! I was nervous heading to Pasto, but ready to start on this new adventure!

Saying goodbye to my view for the last six months...

Saying goodbye to my view for the last six months…

Last day of spying on the soldiers next door…

Last day of spying on the soldiers next door…

Good bye bedroom!

Good bye bedroom!

Right before heading to the airport!

Right before heading to the airport! (That’s kind of how I felt…)

Pasto, here I come!

Pasto, here I come! (and yes, Colombians still haven’t figured out the difference between Ms., Miss, and Mrs.)

Before I knew it, I was catching my breath as we touched down on the runway at the airport in Chachagüí   (a small pueblo about 45 minutes outside of Pasto). Catching my breath because everyone had forgotten to mention that the runway at the airport is more like landing on an aircraft carrier. The airstrip is located between two canyons, and has a mountain in front, and so not only is it crucial that the pilot is precise, but he also screeches to a grinding halt to not go off the end. I picked up my bags from the smallest airport I had ever been in, and met my contact at the university and his wife.

I have been so lucky this semester to have had this family! What a contrast from last semester! The Benavides family has basically adopted me, and has graciously opened their home and hearts to me this semester. Since I had no place to stay in Pasto, they invited me to stay with them for the first few days while I found an apartment. It was wonderful to feel so welcome in Pasto, and it was the excellent beginning to a challenging, yet amazing semester!

Tobi - the Benevides' bird. We quickly became friends!

Tobi – the Benevides’ bird. We quickly became friends!

 

One thought on “A New Chapter

  1. you are as precious and as beautiful as ever! Your blog is sweet and entertaining. I am so thankful for your loving Columbian family. And I was glad to see Tobi who has a special place in my heart.
    lots of love to you dear Sharon.

Leave a comment